When Instagram was initially launched, all its users were dazzled by the attractive visual content of the platform. They were so focused on posting content that many of them ignored the other features of the platform, such as DMs or DMs.
if someone blocks you on instagram they will see your direct messages
However, this changed monumentally over time. Soon, people found a way to share any interesting or relevant film they saw with their friends through direct messages. And therefore, the popularity of Instagram grew steadily.
Today, 9 out of 10 Instagrammers have at least one DM waiting to be opened when they check Instagram in the morning.
Are you one of the users who uses Instagram DMs a lot? Welcome to the club.
However, have you ever found a message that mysteriously disappears from your DM? What do you think happened suddenly? Could the other person involved in this chat have blocked you? If so, does that mean she won’t be able to DM them anymore? If someone blocked you on Instagram, will they see your direct messages?
Well, we have the answers to all your questions and we will be happy to give them to you in this blog.
Stay with us until the end to find out more!
If someone blocked you on Instagram, will they see your direct messages?
If you have come to us with this query, we assume that you have already been blocked by someone on Instagram. And once someone has blocked you, they can still see that you’ve already sent direct messages.
But Instagram also doesn’t stop you from direct messaging someone even after they’ve blocked you. However, this message will not reach them, since they have technically cut all their links on the platform. The main reason for not doing it is the mere concern for the privacy of the users.
You can also see the following screenshot from the Instagram help center:
To protect the interests of its users, Instagram never tells a user when another user has blocked them on the platform. However, if you are suddenly banned from texting this person, you will naturally find out that they have blocked you, right? That’s exactly what Instagram wants: to play no role in telling you that you’ve been blocked.
How to Message Someone Who Blocked You on Instagram
if you’re still interested in sending them a direct message just to see what’s up, to vent in a safe space, or for any other reason, here’s how to do it:
- Open the Instagram app on your smartphone.
- Go to the Explore tab and in the search bar at the top, type the username of the person you’re sure has blocked you.
- Once you find your name in the results list, tap on it to go to your profile.
- When you’re in your profile, you’ll notice that the entire screen is blank, with just your username at the top and three black dots to the right. This is because after being blocked by them, Instagram doesn’t show you anything on their profile.
- Tap on the three dots present on the right side of your username and you will see a dropdown menu with various actionable options. The penultimate option on this list is Send Message; play it
- It will take you to your previous chats with this person if you had any. Otherwise, it will open a blank chat with a message bar at the bottom of the screen.
- Here, you can write your messages and send them to them just like you would send a text message to any other user. The only difference is that they will not receive these messages or reply to them.
Will this person receive messages if they unblock you in the future?
Suppose you sent someone several messages when you were feeling down, but now you’re afraid of what they might think if they read them. You are worrying unnecessarily that none of your messages will reach them anyway; Do you remember that you were blocked?
But what about the future? If they ever choose to unblock you, will these old messages go straight to their DM? That could be a disaster, but it will never happen. Instagram makes sure that all messages sent by you to someone after being blocked never reach them even after they unblock you.
So if you expected these people to receive your messages in the future, don’t hold your breath.
What happens to older messages? Will they be deleted once it is locked?
This is another question that most Instagram users are always curious about: does blocking someone result in losing all their previous messages? Well, no.
When someone blocks you, Instagram does not delete any conversations between the two of you from the DMs of the two users involved.